These are our most frequently asked questions. We update this regularly as we get more inquiries.
The Concealed Carry Handgun permit is a state issued permit granting a resident of the state permission to conceal a handgun on his or her person for the purpose of personal defense. The state sets the laws, rules and regulations the permit holder must comply with in order to keep their permit in good standing.
Yes. North Carolina requires all applicants to take an 8-hour safety course prior to applying for an NC CCH.
No, the class price of $135 includes gun rental. We are a federally licensed firearms dealer therefore we often have firearms available for sale during class.
The class is $135 per person and it includes gun rental, 30 rounds of ammunition, ear protection, eye protection, targets and range time.
If you have all of the required equipment (gun, ammunition, ear protection, eye protection, targets and range time) the price will drop to $120.
The state of North Carolina requires that you complete 8 hours of class instruction explaining the State’s conceal carrying laws, function, maintenance and proper use of firearms. Applicants are then required to complete a shooting qualification at a shooting range to complete the course.
Yes, you can bring someone 13 and older to class. We will not charge them to get the information. If you would like for them to shoot they can do so for a nominal fee.
There is no restriction to attend our class but you must be 21 to apply for a North Carolina CCH permit.
Our classes are typically taught in Charlotte but we travel throughout North and South Carolina to do classes upon request.
Yes, the group rates are listed with each class. For conceal carry classes you can get five for the price of four. This comes out to $108 per person.
Yes, if you have six or more people we can come to you. Please contact us for more details.
Yes, we will do 1-on-1 classes if schedules permit. The cost will be significantly higher.
No, many of our students are first time shooters or have not shot in very many years.
All of our instructors are certified with the North Carolina Department of justice to teach conceal carry in North Carolina.
We focus on the law and safety. We go over ammunition, gun types, stances, defensive gun use, concealing techniques, personal non-lethal safety tips, etc.
We teach the class from the perspective of private citizens. We relate our real world experiences to non-traditional shooters. We encourage open discussion and ensure that everyone has a chance to ask and learn in a safe environment.
We do shooting qualifications at various local indoor ranges.
After our 8-hour class, we head to a local shooting range. North Carolina requires you shoot 10 shots from 7 yards, 10 shots from 5 yards and 10 shots of 3 yards. You must hit 7/10 shots at each distance.
Yes, in fact we encourage people to do their shooting qualification ahead of time. Class instruction is a long day. Doing your shooting qualification prior to class is a great way to break up the day. It will also ensure that you get individualized instruction.
Yes, there is a written test at the end of the 8-hour instruction.
Yes, we typically have several guns available for purchase in class.
You will need to obtain a Purchase Permit from your local sheriff department.
How much time do you have from the time I receive my certificate, to apply to the Sheriff’s office online?
We recommend that you apply for your CCH permit with your local Sheriff’s office within 90 days of completing the course. There is no specified limit; however, Sheriff’s have been known to force applicants to retake the course after 90 days, while some have accepted certificates as much as a year later.
You must apply at the Sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside. In Mecklenburg County, you must go online here. You would enter the certificate number that you received from us. Next, you will pay $95 to the state.
In the state of North Carolina, a conceal carry handgun permit only allows permit holders to carry handguns. The conceal carry handgun class provides detailed instruction on what qualifies as a handgun in the state.
The concealed carry handgun course explains in detail what are permitted and prohibited spaces one can conceal carry in North Carolina. Most places will have a conspicuously posted sign at the entrance restricting access. If no sign is posted you can call or visit the establishment’s website to confirm. Prohibited spaces include: educational facilities (college campuses), athletic parks and facilities with swimming pools, and most retail/private places when posted.
Yes, if you are an NC resident you can travel to SC and 36 other states. You will be responsible for following the conceal carry laws of each state. You can go to the NCDOJ webpage here to get official up to date information about state reciprocity.
We began offering conceal carry instruction for South Carolina since March of 2018.